By Timothy Neal

Tony D’Alberto grabbed pole for Race 1 of the TCR, with Zac Zouter in P2, followed by Will Brown to make up the top three.

D’Alberto set the early frenzied pace in good conditions at the Queensland Raceway with a tight Q1 session which saw all 17 cars out within 1s of each other.

D’Alberto’s early time of 1:12.813 was enough to hold that spot for the rest of the session, as the field scrambled for positions behind him.

There were some high caliber drivers sitting outside the top 10, needing to get in to make it through to the eight minute Q2 session.

Lachlan Mineeff briefly scraped into the top 10, but soon fell out, with the front three setting a blistering pace.

Zouter came out a bit wild in the early minutes, but settled to do battle with Brown, with both looking comfortable for having done enough to get through.

With two minutes remaining, Mineef, Jordan Cox, Ben Bargwanna and James Moffat all looked in danger of missing out, as Michael Caruso managed to sneak just inside, 0.836s off the benchmark.

Mineef, Buchan, garland, Clemente, O’keefe, Cox, Moffat and McDougall all missed the cut and world start Race 1 in that grid order in the lower field.

Q2 was short and sweet, but D’Alberto came out flying once more, looking like he really has a point to prove sitting up at the top of a very tight championship board.

Although Brown set the early time at 1:12.730, D’Alberto quickly wiped it out with a 1:12.522, which would be enough for the pole.

Souter moved into P2 late, while Caruso seemed content with 10 and pitted with a few minutes remaining.

Brown captured P3 with Bailey Sweeney to start next to him, followed by Jay Hanson, Nathan Morcom, Luke King, Aaron Cameron, Ben Bargwanna and Micheal Caruso.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button