Auto racing: Bellefeuille bests the Late Model field Sunday night in Proctor – Duluth News Tribune

PROCTOR — Duluth race car driver Jody Bellefeuille overcame cautions and the rest of the field en route to winning the 25-lap Late Model feature Sunday night at Halvor Lines Speedway.

Starting in the fifth spot, Bellefeuille worked his way to the front and then grabbed the lead from early race leader Tim McMann. Bellefeuille had to continuously fend off the pack as there were four caution flags and a red flag with three laps to go, but he was tough on each restart to capture his second feature of the season in Proctor.

Jeff Massingill, Deven VanHouse, Jeff Provinzino and Danny Vang rounded out the top five.

Paul Schultz led from start to finish, with fellow Grand Rapids drivers Ken Hron and Chris Lewis finishing second and third, respectively, as Iron Range drivers continued to be tough to beat in Northern Renegades Non-Winged Sprint Cars. Schultz also won his heat, giving him the only sweep of the night.

Superior’s Dan Kingsley denied Bellefeuille a daily double by holding him off to win the 15-lap Modified feature. Kingsley led every lap, but it wasn’t without a late challenge from Bellefeuille, who charged through the field after starting in the eighth spot.

Super Stock driver Nick Oreskovich of Mason, Wisconsin, also started in the eighth spot, but would not be denied as the season points leader got past Jase Lien on the fourth turn and beat the Mora (Minn.) driver to the checkered flag.

Superior’s Cody Carlson (Midwest Modifieds), Grand Rapids’ Chad Finckbone (Pure Stocks) and Justin Barsness (Hornets) were the other feature winners as Grand Rapids drivers felt right at home Sunday night at Proctor.

There were 97 cars in attendance. The day started sunny and 70 before a fog bank rolled in, but officials were able to push through the show.

Halvor Lines Speedway, Proctor
Sunday’s Feature Results
Northern Renegades Non-Winged Sprint Cars
1. Paul Schultz, 2. Ken Hron, 3. Chris Lewis, 4. Travis Case, 5. Jori Hughes, 6. Jesse Grife, 7. Zach Olson, 8. Brad Larson, 9. Mackenzie Bjorklund, 10. Joshua Hulberg. DNF: Erik Bjorklund, Jake Barsness, Lucas Logue. DNS: Tyler Wass.

Late Models
1. Jody Bellefeuille, 2. Jeff Massingill, 3. Deven VanHouse, 4. Jeff Provinzino, 5. Danny Wang, 6. Tim McMann, 7. Terry Lillo, 8. Ronnie Malecki, 9. George Ledin Jr., 10. Tim Lillo. DNF: Chuck Olson, Max Nelson, Robbie Cooper, Chris Lillo, Eric Lillo, Harry Hanson, Ben Heinle, Jayme Lautigar. DQ: Aaron Lillo.

1. Dan Kingsley, 2. Jody Bellefeuille, 3. Jack Rivord, 4. Billy Kendall III, 5. Brandon Copp, 6. Hunter Anderson, 7. John Toppozini, 8. Colin Chaschuk. DNF: Keith Koski. DNS: Donnie Lofdahl.

Super Stocks
1. Nick Oreskovich, 2. Jase Lien, 3. DJ Keeler, 4. Brian Carl, 5. Jake Froemke, 6. Scott Lawrence, 7. Mike Sirois, 8. Mikey Vajdl, 9. Taylor Madrinich, 10. John Garrity, 11. Brian Vajdl, 12. Tucker Budreau.

Midwest Modifieds
1. Cody Carlson, 2. Carey LePage, 3. Kennedy Swan, 4. Todd Carlson, 5. Paul Ripley, 6. Dane Olson, 7. Matt Sorenson, 8. Dylan Miller, 9. William Moelter, 10. Mikey Blevins, 11. McLean Andrews, 12. Evan Checkalski, 13. Kyle Oman, 14. Justin Bassa, 15. Sam Blevins, 16. Anthony Gallian. DNF: Austin Blom, Kolby Reed, Tanner Gehl. DNS: Taylor Madrinich.

Pure Stocks
1. Chad Finckbone, 2. Tom Treviranus, 3. Cory Jorgensen, 4. Aaron Bernick, 5. Nate Rose, 6. Jessie Limberios, 7. Anthony Woodhull. DNF: Chaston Finckbone.

1. Justin Barsness, 2. AJ House, 3. Joshua Kough, 4. Derek Ament, 5. Tristen McLynn, 6. Keegan Kough, 7. Bonnie McLynn, 8. Kristy Marken, 9. Wally Ament, 10. Riley Ament. DNF: Marty Serbus, Noah Rose. DNS: Lucas Lillo, Eva Lillo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button